Mark B Wfd

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Kennesaw, Georgia

Overall horrible experience. (1) reservation oversight (2) *** poor customer support from the first agent (3)No solution for the errored two way rental.

Uhaul - Overall horrible experience. (1) reservation oversight (2) *** poor customer support from...
Original review Apr 17, 2024

Truck Rental. (1 day)

10' truck for Marietta to Buford.

Pickup - Saturday, 21:00, 04/13/2024.

At location, Reservation not attached to account (Contact center resolved).

Key box at the pickup location (Marietta) was empty.

The Uhaul female agent who was assisting did not give her name, was very rude, barely responding to questions and even hung up on us when we called back after having some difficulty...

Another agent(Gabriella) assisted with reassignment (Kennesaw).

Initial request was for one way rental and realized only after pickup that it was issued as two way.

Uhaul service agent advised return to 3804 Buford Drive and explain what happened as they(the agents) could not modify the rental after pickup. However, the location indicated they could not accept the truck as it was an intown rental and had to be returned to pickup location)

Forced to return(unwillingly) to Kennesaw.

Overall horrible experience.

(1) Reservation oversight

(2) Poor customer support from the first agent

(3)No solution for the errored two way rental.

Pending moves from storage but not certain if Uhaul would be the right choice again. The service support was way below any standard and not something to anticipate..

View full review
Pros:
  • Convenient locations
Cons:
  • Poor customer service no promised reimbursements

Preferred solution: Refund for return trip or special discount on next rental

User's recommendation: Be very vigilant when doing a rental

Kristina L Imj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Uhaul - Complaint
Updated by user Feb 09, 2024

I am super happy after speaking with Ron Tate who is the general manager of the location he assured me that this would be taken care of. He was understanding and listened to my complaint.

Original review Feb 07, 2024
The most horrible experience I have ever had. The location was 2960 Lafayette Rd Indianapolis In 46222 I walked into the store at 4:33 and had my online reservation on my phone however for whatever reason it wouldn't save so I had the reservation to drop off the uhaul trailer in Niceville Fl well I got a offer that said I could save 166.00 if I dropped it off in Fort Walton beach well after waiting in line almost 30 minutes the representative who refused to give me her name indicated that her system would not allow her to honor the price the system would only allow her to put me in as a walk in.

I told her that I wanted her to honor the price I had on my phone and she refused cursed at me told me that she would not give me her name and would not help me any further. I demanded her name as after how she treated me I wanted to file a complaint after sitting in the store well after 5 I decided to call corporate who called the general manager Ron Tate who was not helpful at all told the rep that was extremely rude to me to just cancel my order and issue a refund I just started crying because I needed the uhaul for a family emergency that I had to get to Florida. She said she wouldn't cancel it but she sent her guys home because it was after 5 so my husband who is disabled had to hook the trailer up to our vehicle. The entire experience was horrible I have used Uhaul for several years and have never been treated this way or spoken to this way.

She lied to the general manager and told him I arrived at 4:52 which was wrong I was there at 4:33, she stated multiple times that they have cameras which I have no doubt they do so I want this investigated and her to be reprimanded for how I was treated and want my 166.00 refunded back to me. Honestly its not even about the money at this point it is how I was treated and the horrible customer service I have never in my life been treated so poorly and left a business in tears because I just was at a loss. For sure the most horrible store I have ever been to. I also called the corporate office and was told I would receive a call back that was on Monday and I have not heard from anyone.

I am still very upset and would like someone other than the General Manager Ron Tate who was rude and not helpful at all to contact me. I want to add that she was not even the person that helped me a processed the order she was sitting next to him and gave me all of these issues.

My biggest issue was her refusing to give me her name, however at one point one of the gentlemen that was working called her Sarah I am not sure that is her name. I did drop off the trailer at the Fort Walton Beach Florida location where the reps were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
View full review
Loss:
$166
Cons:
  • Stay away from the woman at 2960 lafayette rd indianapolis in

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Do not go to this location even if you have to drive a little further.

8 comments
Guest

I would like to add to this thread that I spoke with Corporate this morning and I also spoke to the General Manager if the store who was very nice he had no idea what was going on when he was on the phone Friday with the representative he assured me I would be issued a refund and that the unknown representative would be let go due to her actions and multiple complaints. He was respectful and apologized and I appreciate him speaking to me as I did not get to prior. I am all about giving reviews and he did everything he could to show his concern and helped me tremendously.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480592

You can stop lying. No one called you.

Btw I used far right chair, dark hair etc as an example to describe the person and how your nasty self didn’t need a name. I’m not their employee.

The reason I know they didn’t call you is between your first and last post ( she was let go) is over 240 comments in between. You lose.

Kristina L Imj
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480791

Have an amazing day!! So very happy Ron was able to handle this

Guest

You deserved every bit of misery you received. You try bullying some worker who told you what she is able to do/not do.

That is the end of it. You can accept what is possible or not and go elsewhere. Now about demanding her name and her refusal. Guess what shortbus?

There were not 25 counter employees. Probably three at most. If you need to identify her, she is the end person on far right, 30ish, white with short dark hair.

That works with the police, the company can identify her from that description. So go have yourself a good cry with your smart mouth.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480019

Crazy this store has a 1 star review I see I'm not the only one with issues. Horrible customer service

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480030

Nice try. On Google 3.3, Yelp 2.9 and u-Haul 4.0.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480180

Clearly this an employee hiding behind a guest comment. I'm assuming it's Ron the same general manager that refuses to speak with me and refuses to hear my concerns he just advised the lady who refused her name who actually was not sitting in the far right she was sitting in the middle but whatever to just cancel my order and issue a refund instead of speaking with me.

I just pray you never ever have to deal with someone like her, and I also hope that nobody else leaves the store in tears.

How anyone can be okay with their representatives speaking to people the way I was spoke baffles me. She said multiple times she has cameras so the proof is right there on how I was treated

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2480180

I would also like to add that the gentlemen next to me that she was assisting got upset with her as well and walked out of the store he was almost ready to pay and said forget it. That should be on camera as well

View more comments (7)
Steven C Ivt
map-marker Wasilla, Alaska

Dealer complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Uhaul - Dealer complaint
Uhaul - Dealer complaint - Image 2
Uhaul - Dealer complaint - Image 3
Uhaul - Dealer complaint - Image 4

I have been a renter here with two units at the U-Haul self-storage facility on Gold Star Highway in Groton, CT since approximately October 2023.

On Wednesday, 4/3/24, I was a little late on a payment for one of my units because I thought that I have set up for automatic payments with my debit card. I went to U-Haul and paid it in full and very politely requested that the gentlemen in the office (when I discovered a padlock on my unit door) to remove it because I would be returning in a couple of days to access it.

When I arrived here tonight (2 full days later!!), I found that the padlock was still on my unit, which contains my bed (which I planned to bring to my apt.

and sleep on tonight).

Additionally, I immediately observed that the sliding glass automatic door to the lower-level self-storage units was wide open and could not be shut. I was unable to raise Ryan Baron, the general manager, at his after-hours number after already calling him twice and sending detailed messages to both him and U-Haul marketing president Patrick Keefe, whose number for text-messaged concerns from customers was also posted on the sign inside the building near the automatic sliding door.

It was necessary for me to call and report the door malfunction to the Groton Police Department so I would not be held accountable for the door being left open (as I was one of the last people to log into the security system). I spoke with an officer who indicated that I had done due diligence as far as he and the department were concerned.

Neither Mr. Baron nor Mr.

Keefe has returned phone calls or texts, now three hours later.

As a customer myself, I feel obligated to share what occurred tonight with other customers who have personal possessions at the U-Haul self-storage location on Gold Star Highway in Groton, Connecticut. I would be very concerned about the security of those items with the malfunctioning security door in the condition in which I found it and was forced to leave it in (see photos below).

View full review

Preferred solution: I need someone to lose their job as a result.

User's recommendation: Avoid renting self-storage units here

Jeri D Zab
map-marker Praia Grande, Sao Paulo

Brianna was the U-Haul representative that dealt with me this morning, she was rude and acted as if she didn’t want to be there; I was in a good mood this morning however the way I was treated had me,

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Im not sure if I am repeating what I just said however I feel that it is very important that you are aware of this situation because Brianna was the person representing U-Haul that dealt with me she upset me so bad I was fighting tears. I had made my reservation last night over the phone with someone named James I even left a review for him assisting me which was a good report for him assuming everything went well however I got there in Newnan Georgia around 8:30 or 8:45 this morning to pick up the truck and as I was saying I have had four reservations in the past two months never had a problem till this morning.

I had told Brianna that I couldnt see to fill out the application for the truck on the key pad that was told to me I needed to fill out because she couldnt find my reservation, she could clearly see I was having a hard time because I didnt have my glasses it was like she was refusing to help me, the customer behind me was even trying to help me. Then Brianna pushed me aside and let everyone else go in front of me. Ive always known it to be first come first serviced not put aside. Meanwhile another employee came in that tried to assist me I supposedly had reservations from the night before for a fifteen ft.

Truck this employees name was James as well he had told me that there was no more fifteen footers available he said they had a 10 foot trunk and asked if that would be okay and I replied yes that would be even better cause I had already got a 26 foot truck at the end of February to the first of the month which took care of my furniture and big items, then Brianna came up with her bad attitude and said those were already rented out makes me think she gave it to one of the people she put in front of me ; her demeanor was so bad she really had me fighting tears so then I point blank asked her what could she help me out with then she said I could get a 26 foot truck which I didnt need at the same time I had to get this move done I was there early enough to where I very seriously doubt that the truck I had reserved was rented out that quick as I was saying I was the first one there with the exception of one young girl that ran in front of me for a local move that was with the fifteen footer that was supposed to of been mine Im pretty sure of. I have given a lot of service to U-Haul and do not appreciate the woman doing me this way and if I wasnt on a time frame to get everything done I would have left and went somewhere else; for I know with a shadow of a doubt U-Haul would be out of business if all your employees acted the way this woman did . The general manager helped me the last time I had reservations and she was great and very helpful.

I truly hope you can help me resolve this issue, unless I can get something resolved for this matter I will never use U-Haul again thank you for listening and really hope something comes out for the better on this matter sincerely yours hope your day started off better than mine. Have a good day looking to hear from you

View full review
Loss:
$100

Preferred solution: Some kind of compensation would be nice for the way I was treated and for the fact I did have reservations for a 15 ft. Truck I had reserved last night around 9:30-10:00

User's recommendation: Unless this issue is resolved I will not recommend U-Haul

William H Bpb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

THEY ARE RIPPING CUSTOMERS OFF

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Uhaul - THEY ARE RIPPING CUSTOMERS OFF
Uhaul - THEY ARE RIPPING CUSTOMERS OFF - Image 2
Uhaul - THEY ARE RIPPING CUSTOMERS OFF - Image 3

I rented a u-haul truck from the location on olive in st Louis MO I was charged $285 they claimed I drove 153 miles an it was a in town move when they got the truck back from. The people that rented before drove a 144 miles an they tries to say I drove it an the general man was no help when I told her it was not rite theirs no way I drove a 153 miles an she said you did sir theirs no dep an I called 2 days later an I spoke with another guy he was very helpful an refunded me $102 the the General manager did not want to an she where very rude to customers you all need to investigate that location for ripping people off of they money

View full review

User's recommendation: I will not recommend no one for that location

Aronta B

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Indianapolis, Indiana

I Was Wrongfully Accused Of Stealing A Van From UHaul.

I Was Wrongfully Accused Of Stealing A Van From UHaul.
Updated by user Apr 03, 2024

I didn’t use Uhaul this time and in the future I will never use Uhaul or recommend to anyone.

Original review Feb 05, 2024
Someone entered a corporate store location with a fake ID and was able to obtain a contract for a rented vehicle that they never returned. A visual verification of the ID was performed and the lady of the store deemed it as a VALID ID.

After he didnt return the vehicle that is when the store further investigated and found the ID to be FAKE. They reported it to law enforcement then an investigation had begun and I ended up in the crossfire of the mess. The store representative accused me of being the perpetrator then turned around and said it wasnt me but the damage had already been done and I was charged for TWO FELONY crimes. I have been cleared of charges but I have been damaged due to this.

Attached is a copy of the suspect. Monetary loss: $61,596.
View full review
Loss:
$62
Pros:
  • Provide affordable services for customers seeking to move
Cons:
  • Verification method used to verify customers identity

Preferred solution: I Want To Be Made Whole As I Was Prior To This Incident & Compensated For My Pain/Suffering.

User's recommendation: Boycott UHaul! They Ruin People Lives! Attached Is A Copy Of The Suspects Photos.

Steven T Ivm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Terrible service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

On Tuesday 3/19 2024 I went to U-Haul to get some LP gas rang.I rang The buzze outside by the LP gas set for 10 minutes nobody came out so I went and asked for some help. They said theyd be right out there.

I sat there for another 25 minutes went inside asked if somebody was gonna come out and help me. Ive been sitting at 38 minutes approximately and there was a woman standing there. Her name was Victoria. She said she was the manager and said if I didnt like the service I could go someplace else, I said thats not the point.

I want some service to get some LP gas.so will went back outside waiting in my truck. Finally a gentleman came out he was polite filled my tank I had to go back inside to pay for it she was standing there Victoria, the manager and I stated to her that the service was an adequate. I have been waiting around 38 minutes to get a tank of gas shes told me maybe I should go someplace else if I didnt like it and she took a picture of me with her phone and told me not to come back, thats the service i got at U-Haul on capital Drive. The manager was very unprofessional had a real bad nasty attitude.

she was downright ornery and mean j I wont go back there again. I wont do anything with U-Haul. Anymore the customer service sucked. I spent my money there.

Unfortunately I had to wait 38 minutes or better and I got some Manager that had an attitude problem and she forgot to remind herself shes just the manager shes no better than anybody else but apparently she think she is. The workers indicated to me that theyre gonna put requested to transfer because she was unbearable to work for but I waited 38 minutes and got a bad attitude from the manager.

Unfortunately, you cant get a U-Haul customer service to file a complaint to so you can get any responses by placing a review which Ive done which I will also do on Google. Thanks for your time heads up on that place service is terrible with Manager with an attitude

View full review
Daniel M Shy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sumter, South Carolina

Absolutely horrible service, I was told that no one, not even God himself can supercede the area manager.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I rented a U-Haul truck and after driving it for a short while I noticed there was several mechanical issues going on with it so I contacted the roadside service and they sent out a tow truck to check out the vehicle and see what was wrong with it well and guys should have at 4:00 in the morning and he said that it was too tired to get out the truck and do anything so just give him the odometer the license plate in the truck number sent to us or we could pick it up. So come 7:30 8:00 in the morning I contact you all and they have no record of this at all.

They tell me that the guy came out here to look at the truck last night and said the truck is perfectly fine and he can drive no issues no problems and I'm looking at them like are you serious right now that's the exact opposite of what he told me.

so I took another roadside ticket if it hasn't come out and look at the truck but instead of them coming out here and looking at the truck they show up with the area supervisor and he tells me that I'm *** liar and that the truck is perfectly fine and Larry was the guy who came here to look at the truck and it's a good friend of his and he believes Larry over what I say and they dumped my stuff out in the parking lot and leave with the truck and I haven't even got to use the truck but maybe an hour. So now I have all my stuff in this parking lot at a motel and they took my hundred dollars and they won't rent to me again nor will they give me my money back all because I have mechanical issues that I reported and the mechanic who was too tired to even get out the truck said that there was nothing wrong with it so here I am now on the do not rent list without $100 and my stuff sitting in the parking lot.

View full review
Loss:
$70
Cons:
  • Roadside lies
  • Dilapidated equipment
  • Horrible customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay far away. Robert the area supervisor is by far the most degrading arrogant sorry excuse for a manager I have ever seen.

Tamara J Igv

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Westminster, California

Fraudulent/Unauthorized Charges

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Uhaul - Fraudulent/Unauthorized Charges

Hello, On October 12th I reserved a 26 U-Haul at 4722 Garden Grove Blvd Westminster Ca 92683 for my friend Hasam Kamkar to pick up and pay for with is credit card. The truck was picked up with no issues.

On October 22 2023 U-haul started taking money from my account for this rental.($467.56 and $117.56)

I had called the location the truck was rented from and spoke to the manager. I confirmed the reservation # which is 1778****. The manager Dan confirmed that was only a secondary contact on the rental. I asked if for any reason is my credit card listed on the rental.

Dan also confirmed that my card was NOT linked to the rental and there was no way the charges I was seeing could be for this rental. At no point did I authorize my credit card to be charged for Sam Kamkars retail. Here is a list of all the charges That were made to my account fraudulently.

October 22 - $467.56 $117.97

October 23. - $140.82

October 28.

- $818.24 $446.83 $409.12 $292.23 $140.80

November 1 - $233.78 I had Hasam Kamkar call the store location with me to find out why I was being charged when It wasnt my rental. We explained that this shouldnt have happened. The manager Dan then got very defensive and said that he tried to contact us about the payment because he tried to charge Hasam Kamkars card but it was declined. After one card decline Dan began placing charges to my credit card.

Hassam reminded Dan that he specifically said that he was paying for the retail and his card was the only card to be used on the rental. Dan placed us on hold for an hour before we finally hung up. When we call back the store doesnt answer. On top of this issue which needs to be corrected the other opportunity with this rental is that the U-Haul was stolen from 40 Cedar Walk Apartments in Long Beach Ca.

We have been going back and forth about who is to final the police report making this whole situation extremely frustrating. (Case # T2300****).

The truck was recovered by the Chino Ca police department and is currently at Desert Valley towing in Chino Ca (909) 591-****

We need help with retrieving anything that might have been left in the u-haul. We already contacted Dan from the store location from a number he wouldnt recognize. We told him how we tried to explain the situation of the stolen truck but wouldnt take our calls.

He said that Hasam shouldnt have rented the truck for me because 9 out of 10 times the truck is stolen. Personally I feel that if this were true then U-Haul would already have better procedures and policies on retails and what to do when a truck is stolen. Anyway, Dan said that he would contact someone from U-Haul in Chino Ca and would call us back when they had the truck. In now way am I comfortable about this situation nor am I confident that we will receive a call back.

Everything I own was in that truck. Ive been dealing with that and having all my money stripped from my account at the same time.

I dont want to keep calling to be transferred to different departments, left on hold or hung up on. I would like someone from U-Haul to actually help me with getting my money back and hopefully some of my belongings.

View full review
Loss:
$250
Cons:
  • Each store makes up their own rules about renting

Preferred solution: Full refund

James F Xjk
map-marker Plaquemine, Louisiana

Dispute of tratment after equipment failure

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

ay away from U-haulSubject: Vacation from ***

JB Folsom vs. U-Haul

Contract #8432****

This is a long read but hope this doesnt happen to anyone else. In April 2023, I secured an auto transport trailer from a U-Haul representative locally. I explained I was renting an auto transport to transport a 1941 Dodge pickup to Gulfport, Ms., for Cruising the Coast a week filled with old cars cruising from Gulfport to Biloxi and farther. I explained to the U-Haul rep that I would be pulling the 1941 Dodge pickup with a 2011 Ram 2500 pickup. He input all the information on the U-Haul webpage database, and he said everything was good, the rep selected the type of auto transport I would be renting. I received a confirmation number in an email from U-Haul. The auto transport would be picked up on Friday, September 30, 2023. I checked with the local U-Haul office 8 days prior to pick up, the rep said everything was a go and all looked good, the rep said they had two on the lot. Fast forward to Friday, September 30th, Im told both auto transports were rented and the closest one is 60 miles away. I have had these plans for a long time and didnt want to miss my first opportunity to take my 1941 Dodge and drive around with all the other classic vehicles. I drove 60 miles to get the trailer at the U-Haul store, got the trailer and headed home. After I got home, I was checking out the transport and noticed the driver side rear tire looked to be low on air and had scuff marks on the sidewall as if the tires had been scuffed against curbs from previous drivers. Again, I thought of the preventative maintenance, who looks at all these trailers rented day in and day out, used basically 24 hours a day. The tire stated the cold air pressure in the tire should be 50lbs. I added 30lbs air to the tire to bring it up to the recommended air pressure. I wondered if any preventive maintenance had been done between users. Doubtful. I loaded my truck on said transport on Saturday, September 31, 2023, as I would be heading to Mississippi on Sunday, October 01, 2023. So far all is good. I made a ride to Gulfport, unloaded transport and began cruising with the other folks enjoying Cruising the Coast. The transport stayed at a friends house as I would not need it until October 08, 2023, for the ride home. On October 08, 2023, I loaded my truck onto the transport and noticed the driver side back tire was low on air again, I went to a local 7-11 and again added 30lb air to bring the air pressure to recommended air pressure. I headed home and got west of Lafayette, La, hit a bump in the highway and the problem tire had a blowout. This in turn damaged a leaf spring clamp holding the leaf spring to the axle. I pulled my trucks over to the side of the road and called the U-Haul roadside assistance number. All this happened at about 2:00pm. I explained my situation to the representative, she informed me, the truck and transport would be picked up by a local wrecker and brought to a U-Haul store in Lafayette, Louisiana to be repaired or transport would be swapped for another, as I was still 250 miles from home. The wrecker showed up at about 3:30pm, the wrecker driver started to load the truck and auto transport onto the wrecker. Finally made it to the U-Haul store in Lafayette at about 4:15pm. A U-Haul rep spotted the wrecker, he unloaded the truck and auto transport off the wrecker. The wrecker driver secured the trailer so I could remove my truck from the transport. Afterwards, the wrecker driver dropped off transport with a flat and left area. There were two U-Haul reps available during this process, when wrecker driver left area, they got into a vehicle and left area and went to office. I wondered what was going on as they never spoke to me. I then got into my 2011 Ram and drove to the office. I went inside and asked if I would be getting another transport, they stated no I would not be receiving another transport because I overloaded their transport and damaged it. After asking more questions I was told, sir we are closed for business, we close at 5:00pm. Soon thereafter the doors were locked, and all employees left the premises. So, here I am, I have two vehicles in an unfamiliar city, I can only drive one at a time. It is now 5:30pm and getting dark, I need to get my wife to a secure location to possibly spend the night and make other arrangements to try to get home. I Googled motels near me and found a Holiday Inn within walking distance of the U-Haul store. I got a room for the night, got my very upset wife inside the room. I walked back to the U-Haul store and drove my 1941 Dodge pickup to the Holiday Inn for the night. The room charges were not overly expensive, but I didnt plan on spending the money, if not for the blowout, I would have been close to home by now. I made several calls to U-Haul customer service and was finally told they had put an Alert on my name and phone number, so I couldnt rent from U-Haul until the Alert was resolved. They used to call this blackballed back in the day. Finally, I got a regional telephone for a U-Haul rep in southwest Louisiana. Which I did not call. I figured I could try to explain my side of the story to U-Haul in writing. My 1941 Dodge pickup empty weight is 3,000lb. According to the Texas tax office, Ive never had it weighed and the two U-Haul reps who determined I had overloaded the transport didnt weigh it either. The roads and highways in Louisiana are notorious for being very poor with lots of damage and potholes. I then made other arrangements to secure a trailer to get home Monday morning, October 09, 2023. I feel the U-Haul rep who approved and authorized the rental agreement in April, knew what I was towing, what I was towing with, where I was going, and when I would be returning, all information was put into the U-Haul corporate database, and U-Haul didnt have a problem with it. The two U-Haul reps at the U-Haul store in Lafayette, La were very unprofessional and rude. Right is right and wrong is wrong, you dont leave anyone stranded at dusk in a city they are unfamiliar with and just turn them out on the street. I feel U-Haul was unjust in their dealings in this matter. I would like to be compensated for the motel room I was forced to get, due to being turned out on the street. That is all, I used the U-Haul transport and have paid for my part for its use. It wasnt until the tire failure that the U-Haul reps made unjust and unqualified decisions with no regard for me nor my wife. My wife is still upset unnecessarily. I feel we were treated unfairly by U-Haul; workers were asked to remain at their store until the wrecker driver delivered the auto transport and were upset by being forced to work overtime. The quickest way for them to leave on a Sunday evening was to deny me another auto transport or heavy-duty auto transport since they deemed, I had overloaded their auto transport with a 3,000lb pickup. I saw a lot of U-Haul auto transports during Cruising the Coast event and know some of the vehicles were heavier than my 1941 pickup.

View full review
Loss:
$100
Cons:
  • Its all about the money
  • Very unprofessional
  • No customer service

User's recommendation: Stay away from U-haul

Cheryl B Jwl

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Indianapolis, Indiana

Displeasure of most recent rental of equipment

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Uhaul - Displeasure of most recent rental of equipment
Uhaul - Displeasure of most recent rental of equipment - Image 2
Uhaul - Displeasure of most recent rental of equipment - Image 3

I'm renting a 15' truck with auto transport trailer. Uhaul personnel helped me load and secure my car on transporter.

I was under way on a 900+ mile move from Michigan to Hampton, NH. Stopped 1/4 from my old house to fuel up and noticed both sets of straps that ratchet the front tires for security had come off my tires. Since that time, it has happened 2 more times, making it 3 incidents that the straps have completely come off my tires, both sides. Making the trip dangerous not only to me, my car and anyone traveling behind me if for some reason the chains underneath snapped due to the added pressure when straps were no longer holding.

It has been 17 hours now since starting what is usual a 16-18 hour drive and I'm not even a 5th of the way into my trip.

I've had to stop 3 times now and wait on average 2 hours for service. It is not only allowing me down; but also causing me to be nervous about the safety of my car but also upset about dealing with defective equipment.

It's slowing down an already long driving trip.

I want to know if Uhaul can do anything to make this right.

A good discount on my rental cost would be great for such a major inconvenience.

Also the link for the video to work the straps myself was no good since I'm a 67 year old woman with arthritis.

Plus, I really need to get back to my destination in NH where my clothes are. I need a shower to say the least.

View full review

User's recommendation: Check and double check straps workings and chains when hauling trailers, dollies, transports etc.

Emmagene Gsq

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Atlanta, Georgia

Drop off

Uhaul - Drop off
Uhaul - Drop off - Image 2
Forgot to take pictures of the mileage and fuel gauge drop off at 6:15 pm in the return area Sorry about the confusion
View full review
Douglasorjames L

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Want uhual take there vehicle now. Refund all my money I'm being forced to pay and take truck

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I did not want rent vehicle after signing and paying due to a issue that took place while in office and don't want to use or rent from uhual and want cancel and want full ref refund now.
View full review
Loss:
$245

Preferred solution: Full refund

Christine J Ipj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

E-alert on my account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

You can image MY HORROR- when I am being told that I cannot rent from Uhaul, neither can any of my "friends or associates" when this is something that was resolved last year (contract 8135****) in which you OVERCHARGED me and refunded my account $30

only for today to be told there is an "e-alert" to call a number that has over an hour wait time and told by Rochelle on chat that she had to remove an "alias" on my account

what kind of business are you exactly running there... that something can be solved and a year later you treat them like damn convicted felons who owes you money

rest assured! this is the very LAST time I will rent from your untrustworthy company

View full review
Loss:
$200

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: rent elsewhere- they overcharge your card, then you fight for a refund, then they place a hold for any future rentals....

2 comments
Guest

How is your loss $200?

Christine J Ipj
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2489782

that's how long it took to get someone to even get on the phone or respond and that's what the movers charge per hour ($200/hr)

View more comments (1)
Anonymous
map-marker Somerset, Kentucky

Don’t Know!!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I Dont Know Why youre sending me these Emails as you call pissed customer! I am very happy with all aspects of my dealings with U Haul from pickup to drop off! Everyone I dealt with was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Will always call U Haul in the future! Johnny Campbell
View full review

User's recommendation: Great company to deal with!

Steven T Ivm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Milwaukee, Wisconsin

For complaint

U-Haul never reached out to me, so was a waste of time for me to file a complaint with pissed Consumer Apparently U-Haul didnt get the message
View full review

User's recommendation: Stay away from the U-Haul at 505 E. Capitol Dr. the manager there is arrogant and very unprofessional

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article